RJC Welcomes Israeli President Isaac Herzog, Applauds GOP-Led Resolution in Support of Israel

Washington, DC – The Republican Jewish Coalition released the following statement from National Chairman Senator Norm Coleman and CEO Matt Brooks:

Radicals inside the Democratic party are ruining the bipartisan support that has always existed for Israel.

Tomorrow, several House Democrats - including Ilhan Omar, Jamaal Bowman, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Cori Bush, and Rashida Tlaib - will be boycotting the President of Israel’s speech to Congress.

Last weekend in Chicago, Pramila Jayapal, the Democrats’ Senior Whip and chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus - the largest caucus in their party - said, “Israel is a racist state.”

And today, multiple House Democrats voted against the resolution offered by Congressman August Pfluger (R-TX), which simply states:

“The State of Israel is not a racist or apartheid state, Congress rejects all forms of antisemitism and xenophobia, and the United States will always be a staunch partner and supporter of Israel.”

How could any member of Congress oppose this resolution? Since Democratic leadership refuses to hold these radicals accountable, here are the names of those in opposition: 

  • Ilhan Omar
  • Jamaal Bowman
  • Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez
  • Cori Bush
  • Rashida Tlaib
  • Ayanna Pressley
  • Summer Lee
  • Andre Carson
  • Delia Ramirez
  • Betty McCollum

Apologists for the anti-Israel caucus of the Democratic Party frequently claim their actions and rhetoric are in opposition to Netanyahu, but boycotting Herzog, a former Labor Party standard-bearer who represents the State of Israel - not a political party, faction, or policy - shows they really oppose Israel. 

Not long ago, it was an automatic applause line in any political speech to say, “I stand with Israel.” While that is still the case with Republican audiences, it is increasingly not so for Democrats.

RJC warmly welcomes Israeli President Herzog’s speech to Congress, and thanks Representatives August Pfluger (R-TX), David Kustoff (R-TN), and Max Miller (R-OH) for bringing this important GOP-led resolution to the House floor to express Congress’ support for the State of Israel.